switch language

Thomas Groß

Personal
My name is Thomas Groß and I come from a small town in Thuringia, where I was born in early 1969. After coming into contact with computers for the first time in my last two years at school, I knew that this became my hobby, which I also wanted to do as a profession.
Career
After my graduation exams, I had to take a break before I started my studies - the field of Electrical Engineering / Automation, which I had prioritized, was already fully booked for the 1987 vintage. So I first qualified to electrician with completion and switch permission up to 1kV. In September 1988 I moved to the TU Ilmenau, which was still a TH. After a year, I switched from the specialization "Circuit Design" to "Computer Engineering". After several interruptions to earn money, I received in 1996 my diploma as a "Gratuated engineer for Electrical Engineering and automation technology, Specialization for Computer Engineering => design of operating systems.".
In addition to the typical study training in Pascal and Assembler, I also worked a lot with machine code, after studying with PHP, Javascript, C ++ and Java. This was followed by several years of freelance work or permanent employment. Since 2006, I am employed in the public sector and work freelance only on smaller jobs.
Experiences
After a long time of work and develop under DOS I came with a new bought computer to Win95. Also there, I continued to develop my tools and programs, but changed for reasons of stability soon to Win2000.
With the upcoming XP and the required registration I turned away from this system - in this time I re-installed the whole system every 3-4 weeks for fun and learning. This this registration procedure it was no fun. So i made a break and switched to Linux. After some tests and trials I came to Ubuntu and later to Debian where I stayed. So I learned new languages: shell (bash), perl, awk.
After the decision of Debian to switch to the new systemd and the first problems with this init system, I decided to switch the operating system for my desktop computer again. For servers I stayed on Debian - the SysV-Init is there still provided, but for the desktop I found very quickly the new distribution Devuan.
During my freelance phases, I have worked extensively with HTML, CSS and PHP and realized a number of websites. I left out HTML 4, because it did not seem elaborate for me. So I switched from HTML3 to HTML5.
In the field of electrical engineering, I have dealt a lot with photovoltaics (both the technical background of solar cells, as well as calculation and dimensioning of systems) and already built several smaller facilities - the education to become an electrician was, of course, very good for me.
In my spare time I try to learn, because I want to stay at the cutting edge of technology. So, some time ago I started to attend courses on openHPI and Udemy. Since I only take the courses for myself, I always content myself with the confirmation of participation and do without the (mostly) fee-based certificates and exams. Among other things, I have completed the following courses:
  • IT law for software developer
  • IPv6 in modern networks
  • Linux for all
  • LPIC-1 (Linux system administrator)
  • The perfect Linux server for Web, Mail, FTP and Domains
Character
Assessing myself is difficult for me. I know my weaknesses and communication is clearly one of them. Occasionally I have the pleasure of doing a personality test on several pages on the Internet based on a few questions. Many tests seem to be based on Myers-Briggs studies. Here some of the results:
design-types.net
SCPR - The FireFighter
  • Simple : This means you prefer simple, straight-forward solutions
  • Concrete : This means you care about the very details of your software
  • Pragmatic : This means you like getting things done fast
  • Robust : This means you strive for stable and robust software
yes, that's all true....
16personalities.com
"Architekt" / INTJ-A
  • The right attitude for meeting goals
  • Standing on logic and principles
  • Traveling alone accomplishing much
here I can agree only partly

switch language

Thomas Groß

Persönliches
Mein Name ist Thomas Groß und ich stamme aus einer Kleinstadt in Thüringen, in der ich Anfang 1969 geboren wurde. Nachdem ich in den letzten zwei Jahren meiner Schulzeit erstmals mit Computern in Berührung kam, wußte ich, daß das mein Hobby wird, welches ich auch zum Beruf machen möchte.
Werdegang
Nach Abschluß des Abiturs mußte ich vor dem Studium noch eine Pause einlegen - das von mir priorisierte Studienfach Elektrotechnik / Automatisierungstechnik war für den Jahrgang 1987 schon ausgebucht. Also qualifizierte ich mich erst einmal zum Elektriker mit Abschluß und Schalterlaubnis bis 1000V. Im September 1988 wechselte ich zur TU Ilmenau, die damals noch eine TH war. Nach einem Jahr wechselte ich von der Spezialisierungsrichtung "Schaltkreisentwurf" auf die "Technische Informatik". Nach mehreren Unterbrechungen zum Geld verdienen schloß ich mein Studium 1996 als "Diplom-Ingenieur für Elektrotechnik / Automatisierungstechnik, Spezialisierungsrichtung Technische Informatik, Vertiefungsrichtung Betriebssystementwurf" ab.
Neben der damals studientypischen Ausbildung in Pascal und Assembler beschäftigte ich mich auch viel mit Maschinencode, nach dem Studium mit PHP, Javascript, C++ und Java. Es folgten mehrere Jahre mit freiberuflicher Tätigkeit oder Festanstellung. Seit 2006 bin ich im öffentlichen Dienst angestellt und arbeite freiberuflich nur noch an kleineren Aufträgen.
Erfahrungen
Nach einer langen Zeit der Arbeit und Softwareentwicklung unter verschiedenen DOS-Versionen kam ich irgendwann mit einem neuen Computer zum mitgelieferten Win95. Auch dort entwickelte ich weiter meine Tools und Programme, wechselte aber aus Gründen der Stabilität bald zum Win2000.
Mit dem Aufkommen von XP und der damit notwendigen Aktivierung wandte ich mich von diesem System ab - wer aus Spaß an der Freude sein System alle 3-4 Wochen komplett neu aufsetzt, hat für dieses Procedere kein Verständnis. Also vollzog ich einen Schnitt und wechselte komplett auf Linux. Nach einigen Versuchen und Tests bin ich schließlich über Ubuntu zu Debian gekommen und dort hängen geblieben. Damit kamen als neue Sprachen bash, perl und awk hinzu.
Nach der Entscheidung Debians, als Init-System auf systemd zu wechseln schaute ich mich noch einmal um und fand sehr schnell die neue Distribution Devuan, bei der ich noch heute bin. Im Server-Bereich verwende ich teilweise noch Debian, welches sich (noch) auf SysV-Init umstellen läßt - im Desktop-Bereich scheitert das an vielen fehlenden Paketen.
Während meiner freiberuflichen Phasen habe ich mich intensiv mit HTML und CSS beschäftigt und eine Reihe von Internetseiten realisiert. HTML 4 habe ich dabei ausgelassen, es erschien mir nicht durchdacht. Ich bin daher von HTML3 auf HTML5 gewechselt.
Im Bereich der Elektrik habe ich mich viel mit Photovoltaik beschäftigt (sowohl technischer Hintergrund der Solarzellen, als auch Berechnung und Dimensionierung von Anlagen) und schon mehrere kleinere Anlagen aufgebaut - die Ausbildung zum Elektriker kommt mir hier natürlich sehr zu Gute.
In meiner Freizeit versuche ich, weiter zu lernen um auf dem aktuellen Stand der Technik zu bleiben. Ich habe daher vor einiger Zeit begonnen, verschiedene Kurse bei openHPI und Udemy zu belegen. Da ich die Kurse nur für mich belege, begnüge ich mich hier immer mit den Teilnahmebestätigungen und verzichte auf die (meist) kostenpflichtigen Zeugnisse und Prüfungen. Unter anderem habe ich folgende Kurse absolviert:
  • IT-Recht für Software-Entwickler
  • Linux für alle
  • IPv6 in modernen Netzwerken
  • LPIC-1 (Linux System-Administrator)
  • Der perfekte Linux-Server für Web, Mail, FTP und Domains
Charakter
Mich selbst charakterlich einzuschätzen fällt mir schwer. Ich kenne meine Schwächen und Kommunikation zählt da bei mir eindeutig dazu. Gelegentlich mache ich mir daher den Spaß, bei verschiedenen Seiten im Internet einen Persönlichkeitstest an Hand einiger Fragen durchzuführen. Viele Tests scheinen auf den Studien von Myers-Briggs zu basieren. Hier einige der Ergebnisse:
design-types.net
SCPR - The FireFighter
  • Simple : This means you prefer simple, straight-forward solutions
  • Concrete : This means you care about the very details of your software
  • Pragmatic : This means you like getting things done fast
  • Robust : This means you strive for stable and robust software
ja, dem kann ich voll zustimmen....
16personalities.com
"Architekt" Persönlichkeit INTJ-A
  • The right attitude for meeting goals
  • Standing on logic and principles
  • Traveling alone accomplishing much
da kann ich nur teilweise zustimmen